2021 Alumna Leader of the Year

Greater Missouri Leadership Foundation honored Suzanne Rothwell as the 2021 Alumna Leader of the Year in Springfield.

Suzanne Rothwell graduated with the GMLC Class of 2004 and has since served as a member of the Board of Directors (Past President), as interim Executive Director, and helped establish the newly formed Alumnae Advisory Council. She is in her ninth year with Columbia College in Columbia, Missouri, where she oversees the Advancement Division, which consists of the development, alumni relations, and public relations departments.

Nominated by several GMLC graduates, Suzanne “consistently demonstrates excellence, creativity and initiative in her profession. She brings those same skills to her work with the Greater Missouri Leadership Foundation where she has worked to create one cohesive, productive team. Not only does she demonstrate excellence in all she does, she encourages all around her to do the same”.

After transitioning from the Board of Directors of GMLF to become a member of the Board of Advisors, Suzanne was asked to work with the new Executive Director to create a strategic defined role for this group. She immediately jumped in and after communicating with many, helped to create a newly formed Alumnae Advisory Council, with clear objectives and a more well-defined purpose. The Board of Directors unanimously adopted her ideas during their final board meeting in 2020 and are moving forward with new members to this refreshed group of dedicated alumnae and supporters.

In addition to her work with Greater Missouri and Columbia College, Suzanne is active in the community and is currently serving on the Board of Directors for the Boone County Historical Society, the Board of Directors for the Columbia Chamber of Commerce, as a member of the Columbia Chamber of Commerce’s Women’s Network Strategic Planning Committee, on the University of Missouri, College of Human Environmental Sciences Deans Advisory Council, and on the Robert W. Plaster School of Business Advisory Council, as an ex-officio member.